The Côte des Légendes, the destination's northern gateway

Brest terres océanes

A Breton tip that will surprise you!

From the Côte des Légendes, escape to new horizons. Stroll along the Route des Phares and discover wide-open spaces, on foot or by bike. More tempted by the city? Brest, City of the Sea, will surprise you. Got a sea legs? Go for a walk in Brest's harbor. Want to broaden your knowledge? Take advantage of the many cultural venues. Whether you're a family, an individual or a couple, you're sure to find what you're looking for. Let yourself be charmed by Brest terres océanes.

The lighthouse route

Follow the coast from lighthouse to lighthouse

From the Pontusval lighthouse, continue your iodine-filled stroll along the coast. These sentinels stand proudly on our rocky coasts. On land or at sea, discover the largest concentration of lighthouses in the world. Of the 20 lighthouses in the area, 6 are open to the public. 

Sail around Plouguerneau's Île Vierge lighthouse, the highest in Europe, by paddle or kayak. Climb to the top of the Saint-Mathieu lighthouse, the west-facing lighthouse, and Trézien, the granite giant. Photograph the Petit Minou lighthouse from the GR®34 customs path. Explore the island of Ouessant, its lighthouse and beacon museum and the Stiff lighthouse, offering an exceptional view of the Iroise Sea. 

Are you brave enough to climb the steps and admire the panoramic views?

on foot, bike or trail

Explore the coast

From Plounéour-Brignogan-Plages, start your itinerary via the GR®34, the most maritime of the Grande Randonnée trails, or the V45 cycle route. For the more sporty, discover the Pays des Abers by trail, and let off steam in an area between sea and river. Cycling enthusiasts are not left out: you can take the véloroute des Abers from Landéda or the V45, which runs along the coast as far as Daoulas. Inland, the Nantes-Brest canal in the Atlantic Ménez-Hom offers a bucolic setting for gentle pedaling. If you prefer to stroll, take a stroll along a section of the customs path (GR®34) on the Crozon peninsula, a paradise for bathing enthusiasts. 

At the end of the world, you're guaranteed a breath of fresh air as you walk, run or cycle along the coast. 

Water sports

Sail to Brest terres océanes

From the Côte des Légendes to the Menez-Hom Atlantique, you'll find a wide range of water sports. Start your cruise aboard a traditional sailboat off Plouguerneau. Explore the Ouessant seabed with a snorkeling session. Take your surfboard under your arm and storm the waves of the Iroise region. Float along the green banks of the Elorn in a kayak. Crapahute between sea and cliffs on the Crozon peninsula coastline with coasteering. End your trip with an introduction to sand yachting on the wide beach at Pentrez.
Are you a water sports fanatic or a keen sailor? You've come to the right place!

city tour

Immerse yourself in the heart of Brest

It takes about 30 minutes from Lesneven to reach Brest. A city of Art and History, the visit begins with the Château de Brest, home to the national naval museum. Second stop: the Ateliers des Capucins, where you can see some of Brest's industrial heritage, as well as the Canot de l'Empereur, the only ceremonial canoe preserved in France. Next stop? The garden of the national botanical conservatory, nestled in the heart of Brest's lung, the Vallon du Stang-Alar. We finish with a stopover at Océanopolis, the national center for scientific culture dedicated to the ocean, home to 10,000 animals.

A small selection of activities in Brest that are sure to delight young and old alike.

discovery

Unlock the secrets of Brest harbour

As for the city of Brest, it will take you around 30 minutes to reach Brest harbor from the Côte des Légendes. 

This vast 180 km² bay offers sublime views on both land and sea. On the sea side, this vast expanse of water is navigable all year round, so why not try your hand at windsurfing? Reach the Crozon peninsula by crossing the Brest harbor via the maritime link from Brest. On land, you can opt for a hike on the GR®34 and take advantage of the opportunity to tour the harbor and admire different landscapes.

You're looking at one of the biggest and most beautiful harbours in the world - you've got to see it to believe it.

cultural visits

Immerse yourself in culture & heritage

From the Côte des Légendes, head for the Capucins convent in Landerneau, home to the Fonds Hélène et Édouard Leclerc pour la Culture. Visit the current exhibition and cultivate your taste for contemporary art. Continue your quest with the Abbaye de Daoulas, where in addition to its gardens and medicinal plants, an exhibition is held 6 months of the year. Extend this moment by visiting the Tour Vauban in Camaret-sur-Mer, where events and an exhibition are intertwined throughout the season.

The destination also abounds in all kinds of cultural events, festivals and heritage walks. Something for everyone!

La Côte des Légendes, l’entrée nord de la destination

Brest terres océanes

Une pointe bretonne qui va vous surprendre !

Depuis la Côte des Légendes, évadez-vous vers d’autres horizons. Baladez-vous sur la Route des Phares, découvrez de grands espaces, à pied ou à vélo. Plutôt tenté par la ville ? Brest cité de la mer, va vous surprendre. Vous avez le pied marin ? Optez pour une promenade en rade de Brest. Envie d’enrichir vos connaissances ? Profitez des nombreux lieux de culture. Que vous soyez en famille, seul ou en couple, vous trouverez votre bonheur. Laissez-vous charmer par la destination Brest terres océanes.​

La route des phares

Arpentez la côte de phare en phare

En partant du phare de Pontusval, continuez votre balade iodée le long du littoral. Ces sentinelles trônent fièrement sur nos côtes rocheuses. Sur terre ou en mer, partez à la découverte de la plus grande concentration de phares au monde. Des 20 éclaireurs présents sur la destination, 6 sont ouverts au public. 

Naviguez autour du phare de l’île Vierge, le plus haut d’Europe, à Plouguerneau, en paddle ou en kayak. Grimpez tout en haut des phares de Saint-Mathieu, le phare plein ouest et Trézien, le géant de granit. Photographiez le phare du Petit Minou depuis le GR®34, sentier des douaniers. Explorez l’île d’Ouessant, son musée des phares et balises et le phare du Stiff, offrant une vue exceptionnelle sur la mer d’Iroise. 

Aurez-vous le courage de gravir leurs marches pour admirer les panoramas ?

à pied, à vélo ou en trail

Parcourez la côte

Depuis Plounéour-Brignogan-Plages démarrez votre itinérance via le GR®34, le plus maritime des sentiers de Grande Randonnée ou la véloroute V45. Pour les plus sportifs, découvrez le Pays des Abers par le trail, défoulez-vous dans un espace entre mer et rivière. Les amateurs de vélo ne sont pas en reste, vous pourrez emprunter la véloroute des Abers au départ de Landéda ou la V45 qui longe le littoral jusqu’à Daoulas. Côté intérieur, le canal de Nantes à Brest dans le Ménez-Hom atlantique vous offrira un cadre bucolique pour pédaler en douceur. Si vous préférez flâner, baladez-vous sur un tronçon du sentier des douaniers (GR®34) en presqu’île de Crozon, paradis des adeptes de la baignade. 

Vous l’aurez compris, au bout du monde c’est un grand bol d’air assuré le long du littoral, en marchant, en courant ou en pédalant. 

Sports nautiques

Voguez sur la destination Brest terres océanes

Retrouvez de nombreuses pratiques nautiques de la Côte des Légendes au Menez-Hom Atlantique. Commencez votre croisière en naviguant à bord d’un voilier traditionnel au large de Plouguerneau. Partez explorer les fonds marins d’Ouessant avec une session de snorkeling. Prenez votre planche de surf sous le bras et prenez d’assaut les vagues du pays d’Iroise. Flottez sur les bords verdoyants de l’Elorn en kayak. Crapahutez entre mer et falaises sur les côtes de la presqu’île de Crozon en pratiquant le coasteering. Terminez votre voyage par une initiation au char à voile sur la grande plage de Pentrez.
Mordus de sports nautiques ou de balade en mer ? Vous êtes au bon endroit !

visite urbaine

Plongez au cœur de la ville de Brest

Comptez une trentaine de minutes depuis Lesneven pour rejoindre Brest. Ville d’Art et d’Histoire, on démarre la visite avec le château de Brest qui abrite le musée national de la Marine. Second arrêt aux Ateliers des Capucins pour apercevoir une partie du patrimoine industriel brestois, mais aussi le Canot de l’Empereur, seul canot d’apparat conservé en France. Prochaine halte ? Le jardin du conservatoire botanique national niché au cœur du poumon brestois, le Vallon du Stang-Alar. On termine avec une escale à Océanopolis, centre national de culture scientifique dédié à l’Océan dénombrant 10 000 animaux.

Un petit aperçu des activités sur Brest qui raviront, à coup sûr, petits et grands.

découverte

Percez les secrets de la rade de Brest

Comme pour la ville de Brest, il vous faudra environ 30 minutes pour rejoindre la rade de Brest depuis la Côte des Légendes. 

Cette vaste baie de 180 km² offre des points de vue sublimes côté mer et côté terre. Côté mer, ce très grand plan d’eau est navigable toute l’année, choisissez par exemple de vous essayer à la planche à voile. Rejoignez la presqu’île de Crozon en traversant la rade de Brest via la liaison maritime au départ de Brest. Côté terre, vous pouvez opter pour une randonnée sur le GR®34 et en profiter pour faire le tour de la Rade et admirer différents paysages.

Vous avez face à vous l’une des plus grandes et plus belle rade du monde, il faut le voir pour le croire.

visites culturelles

Imprégnez-vous de la culture & du patrimoine

Depuis la Côte des Légendes, rendez-vous au couvent des Capucins à Landerneau, il héberge le Fonds Hélène et Édouard Leclerc pour la Culture. Visitez l’expo du moment et cultivez votre goût pour l’art contemporain. Continuez votre quête avec l’Abbaye de Daoulas, outre ses jardins et ses plantes médicinales, une exposition se tient 6 mois de l’année. Prolongez ce moment en visitant la Tour Vauban à Camaret-sur-Mer, des évènements et une exposition s’entremêlent pendant la saison.

La destination regorge également de toute sorte d’événements culturels, de festivals, et de balades patrimoniales. Il y en a pour tous les goûts !